Grade Boundaries

In 2017, letter grades were replaced with a new 9-1 grading system. Grades range from 9 to 1, with 9 being the highest. Grade boundaries and equivalences are as follows:

9 = High A* (roughly 85%)

8 = Low A* or high A grade (roughly 70%)

7 = Low A grade (roughly 55%)

6 = High B grade (roughly 45%)

5 = Low B or high C grade (roughly 30%). This is considered a "strong pass."

4 = Low C grade (roughly 25%). This is considered a "pass."

3 = D or high E grade (roughly 20%)

2 = Low E or high F grade (roughly 15%)

1 = Low F or G grade (roughly 10%)

U = Ungraded

GCSE's are offered in two tiers, foundation or higher level. The highest grade you can obtain for a foundation tier course is 5. The foundation tier is designed for students who are aiming for grades 1-5, and Higher tier is designed for students who are looking for grades 4-9. So, in the higher tier you can only get grades 4 to 9 or a U, which is ungraded . If a student is doing the higher tier and only just misses a grade 4 then they may be awarded a 3 which means a “nearly a pass” grade. A student should only take higher if they can confidently expect get at least a grade 4, but are really aiming for 6 or above. Approximately 50% of the marks on the higher paper are aimed at grade 7 and above (this is the usual requirement for entry to an A-level Maths course), so most of a higher paper will be too difficult to someone who’s doubtful of achieving Grade 4. Tiers cannot be mixed, so one must either take foundation or higher.

Clouds Background
Clouds Background

Maths Revision and Resources For All Maths Courses

What are you waiting for? It's time to get started!

Contact us