An A Level Maths course typically takes two years (years 12-13). A student who only completes the first year of a full A Level will obtain an AS Level qualification. A student who completes both years will obtain a A Level qualification. AS in itself is not enough of a qualification for university entrance.

The following exam boards are available for A Level maths:

  • Edexcel (a UK and also an international exam board)

  • AQA (UK only)

  • OCR (UK only)

  • Cambridge (UK and international)

  • WJEC (Wales)

  • CCEA (Northern Ireland)

  • SQA (Scotland)

A student will study the exam board that their school has chosen. The order of diffuclty from easiest to hardest is is AQA, Edexcel, OCR and Cambridge. Edexcel is the most common exam board offered. The content covered is now the same across all UK exam boards (AQA, Edexcel, OCR and OCR MEI). It is only the structure of the exam that differs. In contrast, international versions of the A Level exam are offered by CIE, Edexcel IAL and Oxford AQA. These international versions differ in content AND structure, unlike the UK versions.

A Level Further Maths is a totally separate A Level to A Level Maths. You won't be able to take Further Maths unless you are also concurrently taking A Level Maths or already have a Maths A Level.

A Level Maths past papers, questions organised by topic, cheat sheets, condensed revision notes, general advice, solution banks & textbooks are available below for all exam boards - Edexcel, Edexcel, AQA, OCR, WJEC and Cambridge.

Grade boundaries fluctuate between different exam boards. See grade boundaries for the breakdown for each exam board and paper.